Kanauru Adventures with YG Ent in Korea!


As some of you know, fellow ATY-er Qui and Richard joined Shaun Evaristo in Korea, this past month, to document the lifestyle of choreographers. They just released a preview to their upcoming documentary series where they’ll reveal how it is working with big names in YG ent and their trip~ (subscribe to MovementLifestyle and kanauru for updates!).

➡ And..Check out, through Qui’s words, what it was like meeting Taeyang below the cut! (Thanks Qui!)

Where do I begin….

So I flew from San Francisco to Seoul on June 28th and when Richard and I landed…we didn’t know how to get in contact with Shaun but we saw an Internet thing in the airport so I went on AIM and saw Shaun online! From there he told us to go straight to the YG entertainment building because they were practicing with Youngbae for his comeback tomorrow. So we took the taxi to Hotel Seokyo and drop our stuff off and took another taxi to the YG building but the Taxi driver totally didn’t know where the heck the building was so it took 30-40 minutes to arrive at the building….we saw fans posted outside of the YG Entertainment building but when we got to the front of the building there was this fingerprint system and we didn’t have a phone to call Shaun. So the first person I met from YG is Jay who is the in-house choreographer for YG and he is a reallllllly chill person and knows a decent amount of English.

But as we go through sliding doors the first thing you see is this GIANT WALL THAT is a LCD screen planted where the elevator was playing YG artist music videos…so we went down the stairs to the dance studio and the as we walk into the dance studio the first person I saw was YOUNGBAE! Lol he was to my left and said “O HEY WASSUP” as if he saw me before, which he did because of the interview with Aimee Lee Lucas and I just gave him a hand shake. I didn’t spazz out or anything…so I just went to sit down with Keone and Mari who was helping out with Youngbae also…

Youngbae was working on Just a Feeling and I Need a Girl. But! It was Keone’s BIRTHDAY in about 30 minutes so Shaun asked Youngbae to sing him happy birthday in 30 minutes and he said “ok ” with his signature smile ahahaha. So after 30 minutes he dims the lights in the room and sings him happy birthday in English in a joking way ahaha but everyone was laughing in the dance studio. I thought that was awesome because they just met that day, it really shows how down to earth youngbae is…sometimes I forget he is just 22 lol…..

So after they finish practicing Just A Feeling…He sang You’re My…note that I haven’t heard the whole song yet and that the album wasn’t release yet so I was stoked but I was hiding it ahaha. We have a video of him singing it in the dance studio…just walking around and doing his thing but I don’t know if we are allowed to upload that =/. It’s just a different feeling seeing and hearing him person because you feel it even more…but whoever went to his concert would know what I mean.

So after he sang… he sat down pretty much next to me!!…so he looks at me and I look at him but we didn’t know what to say to each other ahahah. I knew he was thinking of something but the first thing he said to me was

YB: “I saw you with Aimee on Youtube”

Me: “Really?? Awesome =D”

YB: *Points at my hair and then his own hair*

Me: “Yea I know… =X”

YB and Me: *Then we both smile at each other..* rofl NOT HOMO

YB: Are you Korean??

Me: Nah. I’m Chinese

YB: Oooo

I could tell he wanted to speak to me in Korean ahahahaha Jay thought I was Korean also… I don’t even look Korean -_-

But what else was I suppose to say?! I just met the guy.

Then he goes about dancing INAG with JiHye, so that was pretty cool. By the end of the night Shaun rounded all of the dancers and young bae and gave a motivational speech ahaha. But yea totally! There is too much to say!! I’ll just throw in random stuff with my encounter with YB.

For his come back at Mnet we didn’t talk to him at all because he was doing his own thing and we weren’t allowed to bother him or anything but after the shoot for Just a Feeling and INAG which took about  9 freaking hours…..I was so tired.. it wasn’t funny but we will have footage of that..but afterwards we got the luxury to sit in the managers car of Big Bang I believe…soo GD, Youngbae, Shaun, Richard and I were in the car but GD and shaun were talking about their own thing while, Richard and I sit in the back enjoying the Ride back…but when we arrived at their house, I saw 3-5 fangirls waiting outside the house..note that it was like 4-5 am in the morning..crazzzy girls.

Another time would be when I was wearing the black chrome heart Where U At shirt, while I was eating in the crazy waterfall cafeteria, you can see it in 2ne1’s video “Follow Me” at 2:21 ahahaha…but anyways Youngbae came behind me and said:

YB: Hey, that’s the same shirt from the video

Me: Yea sorry…

YB: Nooo Noooo, I like the shirt too 😀

Me: I like your hoodie! Can I have it 😀 ahah just playing *he was wearing a chrome heart hoodie*

YB: Yea Chrome heart is really expensive in Korea

Me: I know =(

…hm what is another encounter..

When I asked for his autograph of his deluxe album photobook..I was pretty stoked but Youngbae is a Christian indeed…cause he wrote God Bless You also when he saw Keone’s Cross Necklace he asked

YB: Are you a Christian?

Keone: Yes *shows his Cross tattoo*

YB: We are brothers :D..how about you Mari?

Mari: Yea I am

YB: You’re my sister =D

But that was pretty much it….We didn’t really spent much time with Youngbae because he was out performing his live performances and what nots…we spent more time with se7en and 2ne1 than anything.

– QUI

Please credit AlwaysTaeyang when posting elsewhere

Thank you Qui for taking out the time to share you’re story with us! Can’t wait to watch the documentary!

93 thoughts on “Kanauru Adventures with YG Ent in Korea!”

  1. Qui you’re a star & totally awesome 😀
    Thank you so much for this & getting in contact with ATY & sharing your experience with us! haha I just loved the conversations you had with Taeyang; wow!

  2. o very cool! haha those questions and answers lol. YB is busy and they still got too see him, lucky lucky. haha can’t shaun e-mail me and say come too korea too meet taeyang haha. the dream would come true xD

  3. Qui looks so happy on the pic with Youngbae, even beating his eye smile! lol Thanks fo sharing. So exclusive. Ha.

    Love these parts:

    “the first person I saw was YOUNGBAE! Lol he was to my left and said “O HEY WASSUP” as if he saw me before, which he did because of the interview with Aimee Lee Lucas and I just gave him a hand shake. I didn’t spazz out or anything”

    YB: Are you a Christian?
    Keone: Yes *shows his Cross tattoo*
    YB: We are brothers 😀 ..how about you Mari?
    Mari: Yea I am
    YB: You’re my sister =D

    Haha. Thanks again. ^^

  4. I’m so jealous that you actually got to meet youngbae in real life and had mini conversations with him. can’t wait to watch the documentary, I’m so excited I know it’ll be super good.

  5. WOW! thanks for sharing Qui! your the best!

    and LOL at the first convo I loved it and the rest of the convo’s too, cant believe you got to talk to him! and in English too 😀

  6. My personal fav…the hair convo.

    I died when I read it. I can just imagine Taeyang trying to figuring out what to say and then just gives up and points~

    1. I ROFLED soo hard too. I can totally see this moment occurring in my head…both awkward and fricken adorable.

      Taeyang: *points to hair* *points to his hair.*
      Qui: *yup i’m a big fanboy of yours*

      They had a “moment.”

  7. thanks for this. thanks qui for sharing your experience. it was really cute how you’re a fan of taeyang. so damn lucky to meet, hang out, and talk to him. wanna see taeyang one day too.

  8. Qui is totally grinning like an idiot in that pic with TY…not that i would have done any better ; ) (i might have been passed out on the floor or sth!!!)

  9. this post had me smiling at my computer like a lunatic.
    omg I loved this so much..totally picturing taeyang in my head while reading this…gahhhhhhh
    thanks so much qui! 🙂

  10. Ahhh man….I’m so excited to see what Kanuaru releases now!!!

    Qui is so freaking lucky! Sigh….

    Hahah…the hair convo. They totally had a moment, bonding over the mohawk! If only Harang was there, then the moment would have been complete!

    1. LoL, the pointing quadrilateral…

      Taeyang points to Harang’s hair, then back to his hair, then to Qui’s hair then to Harang’s hair then back to his….

      ~haha….

    2. ohhhhh mmyyy gawwwd.
      That would’ve been EPIK.

      YB: *points* OMO.
      Qui: *points* OMG.
      Harang: …….*throws a smile*

  11. i love it! every bits of it! i hope Qui can write more!!
    lol this is weird cause i think i fangirl over Kanauru & Movement Lifestyle as much as Big Bang now. LOL

  12. LOVE IT QUI!! you are awesome!!
    i want more stories!! LOL.
    convos w/ Taeyang are just too cute!! ^_^ i can picture everything in my head 😀
    i can’t spazz much cuz i spazz everything out on my twitter already LMAO xD

  13. So jealous. It would be a dream to even see Tae, let alone talk to or shake his hand. So so lucky.

  14. Youngbae is a really a cool guy in person. He talks and acts like he’s known me for a while. Sort of sad we didn’t get to properly say goodbye to him though. I didn’t know Qui already blogged about the journey haha, I guess I’ll finish mine while i”m editing the footage XD

    1. Yay!!! Although it sucks that you guys didn’t get to interact with YB as much as you guys did with Se7en and 2NE1…..we’d love to hear your stories too Richard!

      1. I will haha, I just have a stack of videos to finish. Movement Lifestyle videos, Kanauru Productions videos ( remakes ), and now the YG documentary videos XD

  15. OMG…I absolutely love your account Qui especially the hair convo. I’m practically grinning from ear to ear. So ready for all the behind the scene stuff now.

    1. awww. Harang is soo cute. I was wondering, how did you guys get this opportunity to work with YG?!?!

      I found out youre around my age.

      You guys are blessed man!

  16. “… Shaun asked Youngbae to sing him happy birthday in 30 minutes and he said “ok ” with his signature smile ahahaha. ”

    man this is too cute. i love how everyone notices his ‘signature smile’. Qui and his fanboyness. lol

  17. Thank you Qui for sharing this with us ^__^.
    I think I’d smile like an idiot while reading this, too cute for words. I really love the picture =].

  18. Qui, you’re an angel… thanks for the share. When I saw your pic with YB I was about to say, “look, Qui is sporting YB’s hair” YB beat me to it… hahahahaha

  19. Bae sounds like such a sweetie~

    Thanks so much for sharing your experience with us, Qui!<3

    Excited to see the behind the scenes footage you guys shot.

  20. thank Qui for sharing this with us. after reading the article, i think i will vote for him to become ‘the ultimate Taeyang fanboy’. XD

  21. I had so much fun reading this, for real.
    Taeyang seems to be down-to-earth and just… cool!
    I especially loved the part about the hair and being a Christian.
    You guys are really lucky. Meeting him must have felt sort of surreal.
    Once again, thanks so much for sharing this with us. I’ll look forward to your documentary series. 😉

  22. YB is cute!!! one thing caught my attention is that ,
    “but GD and shaun were talking about their own thing while, “.. awww,cute! btw Qui pic of (^_^)v is epic! fanboy to the max! xD

  23. I had fun reading Qui’s experience with YG and YB..:) Thank’s a lot for sharing, doubly fun because Superstar is playing while reading your story.

    Thanks and it is very much appreciated for sharing. 😀

  24. awww the YB & Qui moment made me laugh so hard, HAHAHAHHAHA!!
    SO FREAKIN’ ADORABLE <333333333333333333
    awww in the future, you'll get to spend more time with YB, Qui!
    Don't worry!!

  25. Thanks so much for your story Qui!! The convos you had with YB were cute, LOL.

    So lucky~~~~~~~ D:

    Still love the hair convo… but can just see YB saying “You’re my brother, you’re my sister :D”

    He is too cute… Very down to earth as well, I like that~ (Well, I’m always liked that in a celebrity or idol, person whatever, but yeah…”XD)

  26. QUI says: we spent more time with se7en and 2ne1 than anything.

    AHHHHHHH!!!WAAAAHHHH!!!that just killed me QUI…

    after time with YB, then 2ne1 and SE7EN!!!

    may i rest in peace…

    SIGH…jealous to the grave…

    can’t wait for your documentary…Thanks for sharing…

    lol i am a fangirl of QUI already, ahahaha

  27. Qui, thanks so much for sharing your experience with YB! how i wish i’d have a moment to be that close with BB and 2ne1 (the whole group yeah haha!)

  28. Thanks so much for sharing, Qui! And I can’t wait to hear Richard’s point of view. I can’t wait for the documentary. 😀

  29. thank you for sharing Qui.
    i wouldn’t ask what you felt meeting them
    coz your pictures say it all. 😀
    and what you’ve experienced in Korea was probably
    the ultimate dream a fan can ever have.
    i wanna feel jealous but i just can’t.

    i think i’m falling more with YB now. 😉

  30. OMFG I would’ve done anything to trade places with those guys man lol. That is great though wow I loved reading this haha hopefully we’ll get to see everything soon.

  31. Thank you so so so so much Qui! You’re so full of awesome and your account got me grinning like mad. hehe! love all the moments you had with YB! =D

    (can’t wait for Richard’s one now. =D)

    1. haha so cute he sang the song to boss lol
      Taeyang “I need my Boss”
      Harang “i need my mummy”
      lol

      CL that’s not how you do it
      be gentle girl lol

  32. all i can say is this:

    KEONE + TAEYANG working together.
    MARI + 2NE1 working together.
    totally my dream. ultimate dream. my favorite choreographers and inspiration (MARIEL MARTIN!!!!!!!!).
    Thank you SHAUN EVARISTO for making this come true. WOOO~!!!!

    YG BABY!

  33. wha.. YB talkd to you!!!! he even saw you on youtube..!!
    yee. props up to you for not fainting at the sight of YB.

  34. Omg the encounter sounds absolutely awesome! And now I’m trying to figure how it would my convo with bae would go if I ever met him!!!! Hahaha and bae sounds so cute and adorkable! You’re really lucky qui! And I can’t wait to read richard’s entry as well!

    Alwaystaeyang for the win!!!

  35. hi! just want some clarification…what does he mean by this statement “But after 5 minutes Shaun came up to pick up Rino Nakasone who is from Beat Freaks and the choreographer for Shinee or SM entertainment so that was cool, and Amber of f(x) was with her also lol.” did amber go to yg?

    wow! nice one! hope he can share more of his experience there…

  36. Has the preview for the next Heroes episode been shared? Although I can only see the back of Bae’s head, you can totally see IU freaking out about the kiss. She’s so adorable! :3

    (The preview starts at around 1:30 and the part concerning Bae and IU starts at about 1:50)

  37. hmm I want to hear Richards perspective also ahahaha
    even though we were together like the whole time -_-

    1. is there a chance that you could write something about your encounter with 2ne1 and seven? pls..
      thank you for sharing your experience..damn! i want to be in your place..

      1. LoL i don’t know if I can talk about my encounter with se7en and 2ne1 just yet. or Maybe I can talk about se7en’s because he just released his mini album ahaha

    2. Qui,you must have done something terrific in your past life like save a country or something to deserve this.^^

  38. Thanks for sharing Qui!
    Could you tell us some moments with 2NE1 and Se7en too?

    Man i would kill to work in YGE. Gym instructor, cleaner, chef….anything i wouldn’t care

  39. Qui!!!
    I’m Chinese but I think u do look like Korean!!!
    Not surprise YB thougt u were!!hah
    Thx for sharing!!!
    U All Rock!!!!

  40. thx for the sharing qui…you are totally awsome…so is YB….^^ i wish i could encounter YB like that….so jealous of qUI…* just joking^^

  41. Thanks for sharing! I can’t wait to see your vids up Qui! And I’m freakin’ jealous! Hahaha just kidding. =)

    BTW you do look like Korean. When I read that convo I felt Bae’s eagerness to speak in Korean. Ahhh he knows he can talk a lot more with you if you’re Korean Qui. =)

    Thanks ATY for posting this up!

  42. waaaaahhh….
    you know what i love about this…because its like in a fan point–of-view…not a reporters or something…
    so we can totally relate to his reactions…
    qui!! i love that kiddie smile there…he he…

Leave a comment