Taeyang at the 2014 SBS Gayo Daejun (141221)


SBS held their annual year end blowout and Taeyang was a solo performer for the first time since 2009. As if to make up for years of absence, SBS had him in 3 separate performances: for “Eyes, Nose, Lips” and in collaboration with Jeff Bernat for Jeff’s popular “Call You Mine” and with GDragon for their ongoing promotion for “Good Boy.” They also gave him an award for Best Male Solo.

Video under the cut:

Award for Best Male Solo:

“I’ve been so happy all this year, many people gave much love to ‘Eyes Nose Lips.’ Thank you Teddy, Mr YG, and [most of all my fans ] VIPs Thank you so much.” (Translation via @Huisuyoon and @ShrimpLJY)

The show as a whole wasn’t particularly high- concept and felt like a slightly upgraded edition of Inkigayo, though there were a lot of special collaboration stages. (One can hardly blame the artists though since most of them have to run the gauntlet of all the network shows apart from their other year end activities. Apart from having to conserve energy, there’s no time to prepare anything especially elaborate.) Even YG Family’s relatively minimal broadcast participation is offset somewhat by their running all over the globe for paying gigs so Taeyang’s visible exhaustion was already somewhat expected.  As it is, his stages felt rather perfunctory which was a pity since he didn’t look like he was enjoying himself very much. (Except the stylists were doing the most with his pants. I wish TY’s quirky humor didn’t extend so much to his styling…)

Update: Fancams! (Again, much better than the broadcast. Such a mystery why that happens… After seeing this, I really think SBS owes all the artists that night an apology.  Talk about the PD and his staff making everyone look bad… )

Eyes Nose Lips

Call You Mine

Good Boy

Many thanks to all the fans for sharing!

7 thoughts on “Taeyang at the 2014 SBS Gayo Daejun (141221)”

  1. Thanks for the post! I should admit, I was a bit nervous before I watched the videos because this was the first time I’ve read “YB” and “perfunctory” in the same sentence. So agree with you that it was nothing but “a slightly upgraded edition of Inkigayo”. I kinda agree that his stylist(s) could’ve done a better job but to me this was the best acceptance speech this year. For once, YB stopped giving all the credit to people he worked with, saying there’s nothing much he did. I loved it when he said, “…Teddy who worked with me on ENL…” If you ask me, it was ALL YOU!!!! So a HUGE thank you to YB. And to you ATY!!!

    1. I’ve often wondered how much of it is his natural humility and how much of it was trying to be detached from the final product (as he had agonized over it for so long but not getting to do what he really wanted to do.) I’m sure he’s happy and grateful that the song did well, but I can imagine success also gives him a dilemma. (We all know artists who have become prisoners of their own successes and getting locked into a “proven” formula – either by choice or by their label.) Taeyang is famously stubborn in his preferences and I believe he really does have a vision for what he wants to do, but its now going to be even harder to budge YG now that Rise has become sort of “evidence” why YB has to cater to mass appeal rather than his own rather niche tastes. I can imagine old Taeyang solo fans are even more anxious for the re-package since it may be a signal of how YB plans to handle these artistic differences going forward. A happy compromise with YG is going to take a long time too (which is probably why the repackage is delayed) though I’m definitely on YB’s side for holding out for what he wants rather than just giving in for the sake of getting a release date.

    2. Lol. Now that I’ve seen that fancams, I may have to take back what I said about his performances. Talk about renewed appreciation for everything – the fancams captured his expressions and energy miles better than the broadcast. SBS just did a really LOUSY job at the broadcast as a whole and seemed more enamored with showing off the venue and the stage than taking decent shots of the performers. Not to mention the sound…

      YG has to complain honestly, especially since SBS is the only station they regularly deal with. It’s outright embarrassing by now, and inexcusable why they keep on getting stuck with bad camera work, editing, lighting and sound.

  2. omg I couldn’t agree more! That’s why I am so frustrated that he doesn’t seem to get any recognition for his album, not just for ENL, for which Mr. YG was so eager to take the entire credit!!!! I am also a bit miffed that all of a sudden many female presenters (at Melon and here too) say, “Oh, he’s my favorite”. YB mentioned his repackage in June and we’re still waiting. His album deserves more recognition – after all, it’s his music and vision we love, not just him getting more awards for a song with Mr. YG’s big “I told you so” on it.

  3. YB: …눈코입이란 노래 때문에 이렇게 많은 분들한테 사랑을 받은 것 같은데… (I guess I’ve been loved by so many people because of the song “Eyes, Nose, Lips”…) –> interpretation: “it wasn’t me, it was the song people loved.” No, it was YOU!!!!!

    양현석 회장님 감사드리고, 그리고 무엇보다… (thank you, Chairman Yang, and most importantly…) –> I love it how he seems just a tiny bit tired of having to mention “Chairman” YG in every acceptance speech he makes hahahahaha

  4. Honestly, I don’t like it that he has too many projects to worked on: RISE promotions (it’s now entering Asia tour), Bigbang dome tour in Japan & Goodboy’s promotion. Big three at the same time! And they seems didn’t think it’s enough, so they just added a new collaboration (new partner, new song) in his crazy schedules. It’s not counting some photoshoots, interviews & company’s event.
    Is that YB just a workaholic? Or is it YG who overworked him?
    I feel bad right now, I just….I love him so much!

Leave a Reply

