Taeyang working with The Underdogs


What good news to come home too! Taeyang seems to be mixing a little business with pleasure in Cali because he just tweeted that he’s doing a session with famed R&B producers The Underdogs.

For those who don’t know, The Underdogs is a R&B/pop production duo composed of Harvey Mason, Jr. and Damon Thomas. They’re the ones behind hit songs such as Chris Brown and Jordan Sparks’ “No Air”, Chris Brown’s “Take You Down” and Jennifer Hudson’s “And I’m Telling You I’m Not Going”. They have written and produced works for the likes of 2Pac, Aretha Franklin, Beyonce, Britney Spears, Chris Brown, Jennifer Hudson, Jordin Sparks, Justin Timberlake, Pink, Snoop Dogg and more!

And Harvey Mason Jr. even tweeted about it too!!

cr: @realtaeyang, @harveymasonjr and bigbangupdates for the screencaps

OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG!!!!! Got home from work and my twitter was blowing up about this!!! I AM DYING!! Now we don’t know if this is for a solo track or if this is BIG BANG related but the mere fact that he is even in conversation with these people is amazing. I wish Bluemaid was here to do this post since she would be a lot more coherent than I am but she’s out. I knew there was a reason for all of his trips to the US!

For those who want to know more about these producers here’s a really good interview, or two. As you can tell, I’m very excited! ^_^

28 thoughts on “Taeyang working with The Underdogs”

  1. Omg!! I’m so excited! I can’t believe YB is working with producers who worked with so many artists! But I’m a selfish stan so I hope it’s for his next solo album 🙂

  2. Didn’t we all suspect this? Good to see that we know YB so well.

    I’m so excited to see what comes out of this collaboration. The Underdogs have produced some amazing work so to hear that they’re working with YB…..*squeals*

    Like Tooz said, don’t know if this is for his solo venture or BB work, but the fact that he’s been meeting with them is surreal.

  3. is this for Taeyang album project or BIGBANG album project ?

    coz i really really hope that… this is for Taeyang album project

  4. I doubt BB will comeback anytime soon, so this is probably for Bae’s solo or maybe even a unit project. Exciting~~

  5. I think it’s for a solo because in that video of Shaun talking to PacRim recently Shaun said he had TaeYang, GD, 2ne1 stuff to work on. He didn’t say Big Bang as a group

  6. I knew it, when he says he’s on a journey, it can’t be just a mere vacation, it must be music related also
    and he is working with new producer

    I really really hope that this is for his new solo album/single
    I can’t wait, so excited to hear the result

    1. Chyyyyeeeaaah. LOL. We seem to love that line here at ATY don’t we?

      I’m actually it’s not a “US debut”….I’m starting to think these are overrated and little pretentious. I hope he creates a hot English track to so say “hi” to his international and English speaking fans…but not to fully debut or “take over.” Concerts in the States and elsewhere wouldn’t be a bad idea either.

      I’m just also happy that he’s working with different artists/producers not only to produce something fresh and distinct but also grow as an artist himself. AIIEEEE. Can’t wait for this. Thanks for the news.

  7. Harvey Mason Jr. tweeted this : “Just posted new video of @realtaeyang and the famous yellow lamborghini at http://www.tout.com/u/harveymasonjr. Enjoy.”

    video via TeamBigBang

    Looks like our boy is having himself a lot of fun on his trip. (And they’ve done at least 2 songs already.) Wonder how long it’ll be before we hear what they’ve been working on. (Hope it doesn’t take as long as the 2ne1 tracks that were recorded with Will.I.Am. The girls started recording over a year ago?) Now that they’ve got us all excited, I hope it doesn’t take 2 years before we hear what they come up with.

    1. Look at our cute little shorty! Playing with the big boys….literally. Haha

      YB looks like he’s having the time of his life right now. I’m excited to hear these new songs. I really hope that it’s for his next album. The Underdogs work has been amazing so I can’t wait to see what they’ve come up with YB.

  8. I am SO excited. My hunch is telling me that they’re trying to come up with material for an all-English solo album.But if they’re still at the production stage, we still have to wait quite a while. T.T

    1. I agree with you. I think they’re still working on the ins and outs and they don’t want to speak on it too soon. One the producers tweeted a fan who asked if taeyang can be successful in the us with what they’re working on. He said that he hopes he will. So this is seeming more and more like a us debut rather than another korean release.

      1. I think its probably going to be more like Solar International – mixed English and Korean tracks, and mostly meant for Korea promos though who knows – he may actually visit and perform in the US/Canada this time around. But I agree, everything is premature and I am sure that their plans are still being put in place since their timetable has been changed because of DS unexpectedly being on hiatus and BB activities being delayed.

Leave a Reply

