Taeyang “I’m the same whether I’m solo or with Big Bang”


Finally, he speaks about being known internationally! WOO HOO~

“I’m always the same. Whether I’m solo or with Big Bang, the one thing I have to do is sing and dance. I started solo activities with the things I did well with Big Bang, and I’ll show the things I learned while doing solo through Big Bang. Wherever I go and whatever I do, I am Taeyang and Dong Young Bae.”

Taeyang released his first official solo album ‘SOLAR’ two years since he first began solo activities. Because his debut EP ‘HOT’ was such a success, receiving recognition for its popularity and artistry, there were some early on who called this album [SOLAR] his sophomore slump, but ‘SOLAR,’ much like ‘HOT’ had done before, is receiving more love and recognition as time goes on. It makes us think that Taeyang’s album is definitely more like a heavy-duty stone bowl, rather than like a metal pot that quickly heats up and just as quickly cools down.

On top of that, Taeyang’s stage performances always brings forth the admiration of those who are watching him. His performances are bursting with energy and full to the brim. In one word, they are flawless. The steadfast effort and passion from the moment he stepped foot into YG when he was 13-years-old through the past 10 years have all contributed to Taeyang’s flawless performances.

We met with Taeyang for the first time in eight months thanks to this album. The place where we met was YG headquarters in Seoul Hap-Jeong, which was completed at the beginning of this year. At the appointed time, Taeyang showed up with a slightly disappointed expression, saying, “I thought we were going to interview at a cafe.” The weather was nice and we had promised to interview at a cafe rather than at an uptight office building, and we were sorry we were unable to keep this promise.

In any case, we sat and spoke together for a little over an hour. He was in a good mood that day, and we had a friendly interview with sincere stories and lighthearted jokes.

– You participated in the composing and writing of four of the songs from this album, and you also put up your name as co-producer; how does that feel?
▲ I learned a lot through composing and writing myself. The very act of experimenting regardless of whether the song was good or not was significant and gave me the opportunity to test out my potential. Putting up my name as co-producer wasn’t because I had some kind of selfishness about production, but it happened that way because it was my album, I had wanted to show of my own personal color.

– Were there any problems while working on your album? It’s not unusual that conflicts come up when you’re working with a lot of people.
▲ Teddy is like my soul mate, much like the relationship I have with G-Dragon. There are times when our opinions clash, but whenever that happens we talk it out. I’m not the type to be stubborn. (laughs) Though of course I have my own musical convictions. I try to do what I like and what I’m good at.

– Why did you choose ‘I Need a Girl’ as your title track?
▲ It took a really long time to choose the title track. I think I was selfish about it since it was my first official solo album. I kept receiving songs even after getting ‘I Need a Girl.’ If I were to work off of my greed, I probably wouldn’t be able to release an album even after 10 years. Everyone around me worried about it. The president also said to me, “You won’t be able to put out an album at this rate.” So I threw aside my selfishness. Later I listened to ‘I Need a Girl’ again and I thought, ‘This is it.’

– I guess ‘I Need a Girl’ wasn’t a song that you liked from the beginning?
▲ I think I have something like prejudice without my even knowing. It was the song of the first composer I met with, and when I heard it at first, I wasn’t 100% about it. But still I thought I should listen to other people’s opinions too, rather than just stick to my own. And it turned out that the reactions to ‘I Need a Girl’ were the best. They said it was a different feel from the other songs and it matched my vocals the best. And the lyrics were really good.

– There are people who point to ‘I Need a Girl’ as the 21st century’s version of ‘Wish List,’ which was released in 1989. And there’s a reworking of the lyrics as well. You were only two-years-old when ‘Wish List’ came out, but did you know of the song?
▲ Of course. Not only me, but all the members of Big Bang will surpass generations and look for songs from before we were even born if it’s good music. ‘Wish List’ is a song that received a lot of love from the public at that time. And I agree that ‘I Need a Girl’ is the modern version of ‘Wish List.’ Back then, the ideal girl was one that could make kimchi fried rice, but isn’t the ideal girl now one that can enjoy eating kimchi fried rice that the guy makes? (laughs)

– You didn’t personally write the lyrics to ‘I Need a Girl,’ but is the woman drawn in the song your own ideal type too?
▲ I don’t think it can be any other way. She’s such a perfect and beautiful girl. I think she has to be all guys’ ideal girl, not just mine.

– How would it have been if you had written the lyrics yourself? I think your fans would’ve enjoyed it even more. Was there anything you wanted to add to ‘I Need a Girl’?
▲ If I had, then only boring lyrics would’ve come out. (laughs) I’m totally satisfied with the lyrics now. There’s nothing I want to add. But if I had to describe my ideal type, you know how if you have a kind nature it shows on your face. I like women who look kind.

– We heard that ‘I Need a Girl’ was recently #1 on Canadian iTunes and #2 on American iTunes. On top of that, there are lots of videos up on YouTube of foreigners making remakes with English versions, male and female versions. It seems like you’re more popular abroad than in Korea?
▲ ‘Wedding Dress’ didn’t gain that much popularity domestically but it received a lot of love abroad. I saw a lot of remake versions uploaded online then as well. I think ‘Wedding Dress’ is why ‘I Need a Girl’ is receiving so much love abroad too.
There’s one thing I realized then. Even though I myself don’t go abroad, the music I make now is worldwide and the stage I make is worldwide. It’s a global generation now. I realized while working on ‘Wedding Dress’ that I have to be of the mindset that my music has to be heard by people all over the world. If I work with that kind of heart, I think people recognize it.
That was my ultimate goal while working with Teddy on this album. Let’s make an album that can hold its own wherever it goes, let’s prove that there’s someone who can make good music in Korea even if Korea itself doesn’t recognize us, is what we thought while we worked.

– In addition to the title track, listening to this album makes us think that Taeyang’s vocals became very diverse. It seems like you focused a lot on vocals, what kind of effort did you put in?
▲ I think I finally know a little about how I have to sing. They say pitch and beat are basics, and it’s particularly important to put emotion into the music. If I had just understood that with my head before, now I’m able to sing while feeling the emotions. Putting that emotion into the music, my vocals couldn’t help but become diverse. Before, I would differentiate between songs that fit well with my vocals and songs that didn’t, but now I can match my vocals to the songs without that kind of distinction.

– Another reason ‘I Need a Girl’ is so good is the dance. Should we say, we can picture the lyrics watching the dance without even listening to the song. It’s like the dance is telling a story.
▲ What I thought was the most important while coming up with the performance wasn’t the dance steps themselves but the song’s concept. I made sure to think of the concept so that the song and the dance steps will be in harmony. That’s how this dance came about. Working on ‘I Need a Girl’ made me realize why I both sing and dance. Ah, I learned and realized so much while working on this album. (laughs)

– Which song do you like the most from the tracklist?
▲ ‘Superstar.’ This track mixes together a hip-hop beat with instrumentation from the 70’s and 80’s, and is of a unique and new genre. Listening to it will give you a funky yet soulful feel. I was so happy recording it and I enjoy it because listening to it even now gives me that happy feeling again.

– You looked very mature in some of your jacket photos. And you grew out your beard.
▲ Do I look older? Now that baby-like image from when we first debuted is gone both for me and the other members. (laughs)

– You should start dating now that you’re older, yes?
▲ Definitely this year. But that doesn’t mean I’m going to date just anybody. My heart probably won’t even open up until I meet someone who makes me think, this is her, but if it’s not someone like that, there’s no significance in dating. Someone with whom we can be of mutual benefit, and there’s no hardships when we meet. If it’s someone I really like, there probably won’t be any hardships. It’s the same way with work. Because it’s something I really like, it doesn’t feel hard.

– Lastly, if you were to say something to the people you’re thankful to?
▲ I’m thankful to everyone who’s listening to my album. And I’m thankful to all the staff members who made me who I am today. I don’t know how it’ll come across when I say this, but when I look at the people around me, it makes me feel like I may be able to the best in the world one day. Because the people around me are the best.

Translations by Seungie
Original article Here

97 thoughts on “Taeyang “I’m the same whether I’m solo or with Big Bang””

    1. ^agree

      “let’s prove that there’s someone who can make good music in Korea even if Korea itself doesn’t recognize us”
      feel like crying
      so proud of him

      are there anything that TY dont know lol?
      he answered all the questions in our mind
      who knows TY might checking on our site all the times

      @toozdae
      well i think that is the best cover of INAG so far

    2. Lol. I thought I was the only one feeling annoyed by that coupling thing. Those fans are serious business. No joke.

    3. I totally agree. It’s so annoying. It’s so easy to see that they’re just friends the way they tease each other.

      1. well maybe they’ll start off as friends and turn into something moreee?? i don’t believe in love at first sight…

    4. LOL, yea I thought the Sundara shippers were going a bit overboard….I get people love shipping them. I mean I still ship Wonderbang like a crazy fangirl – but I do it silently … in my heart….

      …… -_-

      lol. I love you people

    5. the sundara shipping is the reason to why i cant bother to read over comments section lately in allkpop/or here for that matter that involved sundara
      Dara’s fans sometime over-analysing every little details that i kinda feel annoyed.
      just follow Kay’s example- do it silently or do it at shipping thread but not here plz

      xsorryx

    6. This. When TY says “he never date before”, I believe, really.Until now I believe he don’t have a gf. He might go for causual dates (eg. Yrui) but he is not into intense relationship now.
      My fav part of the interview:

      Let’s make an album that can hold its own wherever it goes, let’s prove that there’s someone who can make good music in Korea even if Korea itself doesn’t recognize us, is what we thought while we worked. “

    1. I LOVED that cover! its the best I’ve heard so far,dunno whether I’m being biased to call it the BEST just because there’s a Violin involved LOL but brilliant nevertheless! 😀

      Thanks for sharing toozdae!

    2. That was a beautiful arrangement!
      Boy needs and deserves to be praised.
      I totally loved it. His voice gives the song a very soothing feeling and the rap part flowed better than in the original imo.
      Thanks a lot for sharing it with us toozdae. I’m saving this.

    3. I was spazzing when I heard cause I love this guy and subscribe to him (his WD cover is nice too) and was so happy he did INAG. But of the covers I’ve heard so far he is the best.

  1. “That was my ultimate goal while working with Teddy on this album. Let’s make an album that can hold its own wherever it goes, let’s prove that there’s someone who can make good music in Korea even if Korea itself doesn’t recognize us, is what we thought while we worked.”

    Well it looks like YB and Teddy succeeded beyond expectations! It hurts me to see that YB knows that he’s not really appreciated my the general Korean audience but then at the same time, I’m ecstatic to hear the he’s aware of the love he’s given internationally. YB’s maturing so quickly now. He’s working hard to be the best ge can, adapting himself to the music rather than changing the music to suit him. This is a sign of a true artist. Rather than picking and choosing songs that suit him, he’ll work hard to make sure he suits the songs instead.

    Work hard YB!!! I want to be able to see you grow more and more until you, without a doubt, become #1 in everyone’s minds!!!

  2. I don’t why I’m overcome with so much emotion reading this interview. I feel like I’ve been on this incredible journey with YB since discovering last year and to see all that he’s accomplished with this album just makes me feel so proud. I knew in my heart he had what it takes to be an international artist and to see it come to fruition…..let’s just say I’ve been crying tears of joy since SOLAR dropped on July 1st. I love this interview. Thanks for posting it, Kay. 🙂

  3. Finally another mainstream Korean artist who realizes he doesn’t have to change the general language of his music to appeal to the global scene. If it’s good music people will listen to it no matter what language is being sung.

        1. and i sure hope thats the last we’ll be hearing of people asking for WD english version from him…its DOPE just the way it is…they all are!

    1. Yeah, really. As for my case I try hard to learn the language to listen to their songs. I’m the one adapting because wherever you go, the muscian will turn out best if he sing in his own native tongue. I love YB, you just don’t know how much I A-door you and your perseverance. YG Ent. is really the best. They provide best composers, producers, choreographers, artists etc world wide. They are in pure quality. Even if Korea itself doesn’t recognize them, they are still force to reckon with. YB you’re awesome!

  4. @Nicki — could not agree more, I love this site, I am just sad it took me so long to get here.

    “That was my ultimate goal while working with Teddy on this album. Let’s make an album that can hold its own wherever it goes, let’s prove that there’s someone who can make good music in Korea even if Korea itself doesn’t recognize us, is what we thought while we worked.”

    they accomplished this goal so well. I hope they understand how much this album can go head to head with any r&b out there right now in any language. Words cannot describe how happy I am by the way this alum is doing. Its funny my bigbang bias is actually TOP and Daesung but musically I am 1000% team YoungBae, weird how that works out lol. Not to mention YB is just too adorable for words.

  5. Thanks for the interview. My heart just lit up when he said he saw all the international covers of WD and how well it was received aboard. Also the fact that he sat with Teddy & discussed about making music for people all over the world & not just Korea. He indeed was thinking of us while recording the album. Thank you so much Taeyang, for you have indeed done that. I’m so proud of you love XXX

    Plus I can’t wait for Taeyang to meet his girl; so he can give all this girl talk a rest lol.

    1. OMG! As soon as I read that part I was squeeing all over the place, no joke. I fell in love all over again reading this interview. YB is so complimentary. When he finds his girl I have a feeling he’ll be talking more, not less. Brace yourself, ladies and gentleman. 🙂

    2. I know right! YB talking about international fans was so cool it shows that he acknowledges and cares about our existence! LOL

      overall this interview was really good, unlike some lame ones that make him feel uncomfortable,it was very informative and Taeyang talked alot ^_^

  6. “Let’s make an album that can hold its own wherever it goes, let’s prove that there’s someone who can make good music in Korea even if Korea itself doesn’t recognize us, is what we thought while we worked.”

    ^ Yes, Taeyang that’s why we love you,keep doing what you do best!

    and then one day this may actually come true:

    “…it makes me feel like I may be able to be the best in the world one day. Because the people around me are the best”

    Hwaiting!

  7. I love this interview!
    So in-depth and really, fascinating to read.
    I am sooo happy that taeyang and teddy are aware of their global market. It excites me to think of his future..sooo many possibilities, so many opportunities. I CANT WAIT!

    I love his last sentence:
    “when I look at the people around me, it makes me feel like I may be able to the best in the world one day. Because the people around me are the best”

    Not only is the boy talented, but humble and thankful as well. You just cant help but root for the boy. ❤

  8. “..let’s prove that there’s someone who can make good music in Korea even if Korea itself doesn’t recognize us..” — Youngbae ♥

    YES SIR! ^^
    Very YG.

  9. Love this article. Keep making that good music Bae~

    P.S How many of you think he’s come here. Bet you he’s been here more than once. LOL. If i can just figure out his I.P address~ I’m totally not being conceited……

    haha.

    1. ^ LOL. I honestly don’t know how he could miss us though. I mean, if he googled Taeyang, we’re right after Wikipedia (which personally, I do not count as a legit site) SO…..bada bang bada boom……clickity click…….he has to have been curious~~

    2. Oh my~! wow Taeyang on here!?….but that was just my wishful thinking! LOL

      but yeah he probably has,I mean come on the guy DOES have internet and KNOW how to use it! *suspicious*

    3. Plus YB keeps coming in contact with us ATY bloggers, Francis and now Qui. We were featured in YB magazine. YB Mania has us listed as the ‘International Taeyang Site’ and we’ve sent him messages and iTouch for his birthday. How can he not know about us! 🙂

      1. yeah, even more reason why he cant not have been here~

        btw where IS Francis? she said she’ll update with the picture she took with YB and I swear I haven’t seen her ever since O_O

  10. One of the best TY interview so far. Its so honest and heart-felt. He is such a humble young that I know no matter how famous he gets and with all the chaos, he will always be TaeYang, the loveable dork.:)
    “That was my ultimate goal while working with Teddy on this album. Let’s make an album that can hold its own wherever it goes, let’s prove that there’s someone who can make good music in Korea even if Korea itself doesn’t recognize us, is what we thought while we worked.”
    ^^That alone tells you what kinda of person he is. Someone who isn’t so much after all the awards, prestige, and hoopla . He just wants to produce music, that is true to him, and have people appreciate it without all the gimmicks and frills.

    1. And yet the praise and the awards (especially this weekend) keep coming. The love that is coming forth from fans all over the world is so astounding. I watch YB’s latest stages and I’m just struck at the amount of international faces in the audience. YB with this album has truly become an international artist!

  11. This is probably the best interview I have read since Solar came out.
    It sort of reminded me of the one he did for GQ last year.
    Anyways, it is so good to know that YB is aware of his international fans’ existence and striving even harder for his goals.
    Thank you so much for sharing all these great interviews with us guys! I honestly didn’t know much about YB before, but now, I think I can finally understand why even those in the indie scene have certain respect for him. He really seems like a person/a man who is truly passionate about music. Heck, his whole life basically revolves around it.

  12. “And I agree that ‘I Need a Girl’ is the modern version of ‘Wish List.’ Back then, the ideal girl was one that could make kimchi fried rice, but isn’t the ideal girl now one that can enjoy eating kimchi fried rice that the guy makes?” (laughs)

    I loved that part!!!!! made me like him even more.

  13. An amazing translation of a wonderful interview. Thank you! We really are lucky – this lost nothing in translation, IMO. Awesome.

    I find the response of the int’l fans vs.some of the korean fans interesting though. Yesterday, I was reading comments on DCYB and was surprised to find that a lot of them responded with frustration and, dare I say, annoyance re: the int’l fans quote. I think the sentiment was that he knows about the int’l love and yet does nothing about it. Some posted that it it naive of YB to think that his music/stage is worldwide. Yes, it is a global generation, but he still needs to strike while the iron is hot, so to speak. If he’s not greedy, that’s his loss…

    And so on.

    On the other hand, it seems like we int’l fans are just happy for any crumb of acknowledgment, LOL.

    So, what do you guys think?

    Of course, I’m not lumping all the korean fans together! This was just one point of view among many posted. DCYB tends to be more hardcore and critical than, say, YBmania anyway.

    Anyway, I’m interested to hear how other int’l fans feel about it though. Personally, I loved the interview. I admire YB’s outlook and actually kind of like that he’s not ridiculously ambitious. He obviously has goals, but I like that he’s not hung up on all that stuff.

    1. That’s interesting you point that out, a long time ago I’d heard Korean fans didn’t quite like international fans taking interest in Korean artists – so to speak – because they wanted them to be kept in their home country…ofcourse it could have been just one comment I’d heard about it but I find it interesting that his Korean fans want him to pursue the international market when some international fans would rather he remain in the kpop scene for fear of what might happen should he go international….

      I think its true…striking while the iron hot is in fact, reasonable and yet, I don’t think Taeyang is ready….this is such good timing but there is a lot that needs to be worked on to go international. Namely, you’re immediately a target if your English isn’t impeccable; if he’s going to go full fledged international, he best speak the language accurately (and bits/pieces don’t count..). Secondly, YG needs to do some serious market research regarding what age groups/genders etc…enjoy Taeyang and why they’re drawn to him. I feel like, YG…has only JUST begun to notice Taeyang’s strong prescense overseas. It was almost as if they were oblivious to the whole idea before it was in the press. I think, if they want to do it, they should do it right the first and be serious about it. I feel like, the attempts at launching Se7en internationally – which failed – has lead to a possible fear of international response. But ask any international fan, and it completely makes sense why Taeyang succeeds without trying while Se7en failed despite so much money and promotions were poured into his international pursuits. You either go Lady Gaga or go Raw….Taeyang does the latter without trying.

      Anwyay, I went off on a tangent here but yes, it’s interesting knowing Korean fan’s response to this all….personally, I don’t think Taeyang has the ambition to go international. Honestly speaking, I don’t see it. He’s happy doing what he does, without having to try much, he has his fans – they like him, he likes them….if he wants to get bigger things, he’s going to have to strike fast and hard – can’t take it slow here baby 😛

      Do I want him to pursue bigger things. I don’t know. If it changes him for the bad, then no, but if it’ll make more people realize who he is, appreciate his music and become a fan, then yes. It’s an iffy topic, this one…on the one hand, I love having this little world, where he is who he is, he’s at a saturation point, perfectly in balance with what he wants, enjoys and satisfies him and yet, I feel like the man has so much potential energy that just needs the right force and direction to become spectacular. I don’t know why, but I’m suddenly saddened by this.

      ^wow. probably one of the longest comments I’ve made in a while.

      1. probably because they realize YB’s music and talent really has the potential in making it. they could possibly be feeling protective of their fave artist when they dont want them to expand internationally, fearing that they’ll just fail

    2. interesting..so basically they’re saying that YB needs to push his international market and fanbase more than he has done in the past, so as not to lose the influence he is having in the int’l setting?
      I think DCYBers understand the potential that taeyang has to become something/someone, but at the same time, I think it should be done step by step….take it one step at a time..til his fanbase here grows slowly. being too hasty can lead to unwanted results…as we all saw from se7en’s attempt to enter the int’l market (it sucks, but thats the reality 😦 ).
      Honestly, Im just glad that he’s acknowledging us..and knows of our existence LOL

    3. As I was reading Silly’s post, I suddenly remembered an interview with Simon Cowell in which he stated that if a song/album is truly good, then people will digest it regardless of the language barrier.
      I personally believe this also applies to YB. His music is one that you can like even if you do not understand Korean and both him and YG should take advantage of that.

      I honestly do not want YB to enter the international market and actually hope it never crosses YG’s mind because realistically speaking, it would take more than a flawlessly produced album and a nice voice and timbre to tackle all those prejudices against Asian singers entering the Western markets.

      However, I do think Taeyang should hold concerts in all the places where his music is being well received, like Canada, the U.S. Japan…
      YG could get some sponsors and organize a small tour for him. I’m pretty sure many international fans would be satisfied with just that, or at least I would.

      1. totally agree. I say YG should start planning some concert tour already, doesn’t matter whether it’s together with bigbang or just TY alone. I think he should (and will) start with Bigbang first, for obvious reasons… In fact, concert tours are like some sort of promotion. The best kind of promotion IMO. When there’s noise, naturally people will begin to check out your music and solo stuff. It’s a good way to create noise and to make your music known. Then, maybe YG can consider giving YB his own concert tour…. =D

        and in no way i want YB to cross over international markets singing in English. I want him to be able to express himself well in a language he’s most comfortable with if he ever goes international.

    4. After everything YB has accomplished with this album how can this still be an issue. Of course YB’s ready to enter the international market. I have no doubt in my mind. With the success of SOLAR his international fans have spoken and YB’s has said his peace on the subject. This album was created with the international fans in mind and it would be a shame if YG/YB didn’t take advantage of this opportunity while it’s here. Music is an international language and with the global love YB has received with WD it’s obvious that the world is ready to hear his music and to see him perform. When YB sings I see only him and if people have a problem with a Korean man singing R&B music then those are not the people Yb wants as fans. This is it, 2010 is YB’s time to shine.

      1. I have to disagree….he’s not ready yet. There is a difference between promoting as a Korean artist and going full fledged international. Being completely overseas and being successful comes with A LOT of criticism; it isn’t going to be your typical Korean news sites going crazy over his R&B itunes rankings. No, you’ve got to deal with people who know absolutely nothing about Taeyang and Kpop, to an outsider, he’ll be no more of an imitation of some other artists they know and that. That’s why I say, Taeyang has got to have the drive and ambition himself to overcome the obstacles he’ll be facing if he goes international.

        And isn’t the point of going international to show more people your music and hopefully get more people to like you and your music. If that’s not it, then what is the point of going overseas? Therefore, people do have to like him or at least be able to understand him, without making fun of him. That’s why I say, you gotta be prepared and serious and it only starts with Taeyang.

        Music is internationals, but the majority of America does not see it that way. I still do maintain Taeyang has a good step above others though if he goes international. In Se7en’s case, he only had A LOT of international “fan girls”. Here, we’ve got both female, and male fans who adore Taeyang – THAT is a step up. Trust me.

        1. agreed, if he was going to be a Korean artists promoting in the West that would be one thing. But if he wants to go toe to toe IN ENGLISH with established R&B artists he has way way way many hurdles, It will be so odd for most mainstream Americans to hear an Asian singer singing R&B, with very hip-hop moves whose Korean nickname is the Black Voice. I love love his music but he has alot more work yet to do to be ready for full-fledged overseas promotions of an English album.

          I do believe he is ready for an international tour of his own Korean music, but going whole hog into the US market, I just don’t see it right now, he is not ready, his fanbase is not ready for it, I don’t think now is the time.

          Remember too he is still a member of BigBang and will not be able to promote here for months and months straight nonstop (ala Wondergirls and Boa and Se7en) that is required of any artist, even homegrown ones.

        2. he is not ready, that’s what i also think.
          well, he may be ready and he does have these great talents to back him up but the thing is, it’s really huge out there. he’s not really ripe yet, i feel. he may have topped those charts but he has since slipped down. he can make a tour to perform for his fans and by that hopefully gain more ground. but to really stay there and market himself, i dont think so. u’ll need to have Oprah and Ellen to take notice of u. that’s not even a gurantee yet. well, maybe not really but i think YG has their eye on 2NE1 for now since theyve made them collaborate with someone huge (accdg to some reports) there. but i really dont see this with YB for now.

        3. Back in the beginning of January Ellen said that she was looking to feature an international artist on her show. I remember a lot of fans plugging their favorites. I sent her tons of emails requesting YB. At the time DBSK had a huge push. Later it shifted to Big Bang, but many Kpop groups were being submitted. Unfortunately I don’t know whether this show ever took place. Does anyone know if it did?

        4. i don’t think it ever did… cuz allkpop would make that as a featured article with over 5 billions comments from fans. but they broke up right.. or separated.. or.. i don’t know, they are just not together so i think it’s pretty hard for ellen to bring the group over right now. plus the other three formed a group already.. so i think there will be more than one company involve.

    5. That’s an interesting point you made there silly. I personally don’t think Tae Yang wants to pursue an international career… and if he ever thinks he should…. YG should taking Marketing 101 before anything else, and YB needs more English lessons. Not that he’s not good, but the pronunciation just has to be 100% right.

      I’m going to go off into astrology here, YB’s a Taurus and from that sign they like things simple. No extravagance or flashy things needed.

      Maybe that’s not related to him pursuing an international artist pathway, but I do think he’s pretty happy and satisfied with everything right now.

      With INAG so successful, and his new found confidence, I’m sure this year will end well for him. He does have dreams and goals (standing a global stage anybody? :P) but he… well, I guess, will do it when he feels like it, needs the right push, or when the time feels right.

      Another Taurus thing, they can get lazy and they’ll need the right push to do things, but when they do, the energy put into it is WHOA, simple as that…XD

      So yeah.. that’s my two cents….

      1. ^ Ah, are you into astrology!? lol I’m such an astro freak, I love those things, yes, I looked him up too >.< He is really a Taurus through and through…

        They are reliable, focused, practical, and usually right on time. They won't turn out work in record time, but rather will just make steady progress until the given task is completed. They are honest and forthright, and are usually well-regarded and well-respected by their colleagues.

        Taurus will take courtship and dating slowly and methodically, and there is nothing you can do to speed them up, but once committed, they will stay committed through thick and thin.

        Taurus's best matches are Caps and Venus…it's no wonder I like him so much haha (I'm a Cap too)

        I also found this VERY interesting – GD (Leo) and Taeyang (Taurus)
        When Taurus and Leo form a friendship, they often become a sort of mutual admiration society. They understand each other’s needs well. Taurus needs affection, to be loved and cherished, while Leo likes compliments and wants to be adored and admired. They are both strongly loyal and are often possessive of each other. Both friends are able to provide what the other needs because their desires are so similar.

        Leo tends to be flamboyant, which Taurus will like — Leo is bigger and better and grand, the very personification of status and luxury. Because both Signs are so determined, these friends really need to work to understand and accept each other.

        The best aspect of the Taurus-Leo friendship is their mutual admiration of one another. Both Signs have very powerful personalities, so neither will dominate the other — no matter how hard they try

        1. Haha, yes I’m into astrology. XD And YB really is a Taurus through and through. ❤

          The Leo and Taurus description signifies GDYB quite well too. They appreciate and admire each other, they're loyal, and the feeling's mutual. BFFs!!!

          Astrology's amusing and fun this way…Hahaha~

        2. wow cool. So YB and i have something in common.. about the fact that we are both lazy people but will do it anyway.. just takes a longer time that’s all. and my sister is a leo, and she understands me the most. she is the more popular one…which i don’t really care as long as i’m in my own happy circle of friends.

          YB and i should talk.

    6. I think it really depends on how we define “international.” If we are saying international is in “Lets release an English album and sweep the charts,” then its a no from me. I think this is naive and almost pretentious considering how Asian artists in the States and elsewhere who are fluent in English haven’t able to make it big yet.

      However, if international means, “Lets recognize our fanbase outside of Korea and target this market,” then yes. There is a slight difference. You’re not “breaking” into the market per se, but catering to your fans and audience that have supported you for what you are. I think this is how YG/BigBang/Taeyang should “go international.” I don’t see a reason why he should do what Se7en did, and release an English album….when he does not understand the language…it does not give you much merit to be singing something that you don’t’ understand.

      I envision Taeyang’s international “debut” would be a small tour in the States and where ever people want him. Kind of like what Epik High did…sing in Korean and really respect your fans by giving them what they loved you for. Taeyang has a shot…his KOREAN album charted on iTunes without ANY active promotions at all….none internationally, and hardly any in Korea. This means something. This means his music has been passed around enough…and people are willing to pay for it.

      Again, it really depends on how you go about it.

      1. i agree with this completely. YB should continue what he’s doing right now. he can do a tour and do something like his HOT concert. that’s what i can see him doing, and i bet itll be successful

      2. agree 100% with you. Taeyang is not yet ready for an international debut – his english isn’t good enough, he hasn’t lived enough (dating) for people here to take him seriously. However, doing a small tour here or even just having a few meet and greets for his fans in the US and maybe Canada would be a great way for him to get exposure for a possible US debut in the future. Right now he still has to establish himself in Korea. But I would love it if he did a few more gestures to recognize his international fanbase, may do an interview or post a Youtube mv or something.

      3. Precisely, I am not sure if you all follow jpop but Akinashi Jin of kat-tun is attempting exactly what some are suggesting for Tae. He has recorded some english singles, he want on a small (an quite successful tour). Now he thinks he can crack into the US market and be a superstar, I am not saying he can’t but it will be a long hard road. One that SHOULD have started with a much better command of English.

        His personal fans will be really forgiving in a concert when he trips over words and makes grammar mistakes. The ONTD and Perez and TMZ’s of the world not so much, not to mention EW, Rolling Stones, the News etc etc etc. They will be merciless. I do not wish this on TaeYang, not now and honestly not ever. Part of his appeal to me is that he sings his music with feeling and emotion. He understands and can emote with what he sings about. Will that be lost in translation I don’t know. aish I just want him the way is none of this english-crossover album please.

      4. OOOO totally lovin this topic. I always always fear when ever I hear the word “U.S. debut” it irks and bugs the hell out of me. I mean I know America is a big pot of cultural backgrounds and pretty much pioneered a bunch of musical genres like Jazz, Rock, Soul, R&B, Hip-Hop and the list can go on and to tackle it on with limited knowledge can be very risky and may not result into good results unless you bring something really new and or innovative that can make you recognized at least for innovation than rather being a gimmick. To me what local artists in Korea need to do if they want to get their name out there in Western Soil is just do a couple of Mini Concerts, big concerts, fan signings so that they can communicate threw the fans and in that aspect the fans well then tell other people and then interest will develop. Heck I don’t see western artists looking to learn a different language to break into another country shoot so I’d rather have them sing songs in their native language and when the time comes where their able to live in the country where they want to debut and knows its lifestyle and history and polish the language then it might work but who knows LOL.

        1. Motherfricken exactly. I don’t see why foreign artists can’t come to the US and sing in their own languages. Do we see Usher or Brian Mcknight singing in Korean? Nope.

          Big artists like Jay Chou or Wang Leehom do this all the time…don’t see why Taeyang can’t.

      5. I want YB to stay true to his own vision of where he wants his career to go. Right now his international fanbase wants to see him perform. I want him to bring his music to fans that don’t care about the language barrier because they love YB and his music. I think he’s ready for that. What the general public is ready for pertaining to his style (R&B) or race (Asian) has no bearing on me. For it to still matter in this day and age hurts my heart greatly. I don’t want YB to pull a Se7en and release an English language album in hopes of making it big. I just want him to stay true to who he is, do the music he wants to do and hopefully this year tour internationally.

      6. i agree with Tofumon.

        it depends on how you go about “international”

        if he releases an English album, and he doesn’t understand English that well .. he might get made fun of.. considering the possible grammatical errors and such that can happen.

        You guys know Jay Park right?

        I’m hoping he really paves the way for future Asian Artist. I heard someone in a car next to me playing his “Clouds” single.

        Taeyang should keep doing what he is doing. When he performs, and people see the passion behind.. no one can help but listen.

        plus, if he caters to us international fans – it’ll totally help haha.

    7. I want YB to stay true to his own vision of where he wants his career to go. Right now his international fanbase wants to see him perform. I want him to bring his music to fans that don’t care about the language barrier because they love YB and his music. I think he’s ready for that. What the general public is ready for pertaining to his style (R&B) or race (Asian) has no bearing on me. For it to still matter in this day and age hurts my heart greatly. I don’t want YB to pull a Se7en and release an English language album in hopes of making it big. I just want him to stay true to who he is, do the music he wants to do and hopefully this year tour internationally.

    8. Ooooh, looks like this sparked quite a discussion. You guys have said pretty much everything I feel. I see no need to rush a U.S. debut or anything (horror), and I don’t think that’s what the dcyb fans want either. I think their general dissatisfaction with YG’s marketing of YB is playing a large part in their frustration.

      Like you guys said, some overseas concerts for his fans would be a wonderful start that could solidify his fan base. I’d love to see him continue to build a wider fan base through word of mouth, as with WD. If that leads to greater opportunities, awesome, but that’s way in the future.

      Unfortunately, I just can’t see YG promoting YB the solo artist overseas like that, not when there is Big Bang to promote instead. Can anyone really see YG singling out YB for, say, a solo U.S. concert tour and leaving the other BB members out? Not gonna happen. Sigh…

        1. Then wouldn’t it have to be a triple bill? Big Bang/Taeyang/G-Dragon…. And what about the other guys? Then they’d feel left out. -_-

      1. I’ll just take it as it goes haha TY is still young jus as long as he does him all is good in the world.

      2. you know.. i have no idea what DCYB means.

        someone said i’m a DCYB fan. what is that? lol.

        this&ibigbang is the only place i go. =P

    9. He is not greedy and well grounded. I know he has future in international scene. His music is pure and wholesome and when you learn the lyrics in english, you’ll know that it is simple and beautiful coz what he is singing is what lacks US scene wherein rampant sex music is everywhere, and many citizens wants new. He is talented both singing and dancing, and I really like the way he dance, he is so quick and attentive. I just want to groove with him. I feel really happy that YB understand and recognize his int’l fans. YB-ah your music reach our ears and we fell in love with you through your original music and talents, your personality is just an adding factor. God bless you. Through the interview and with QUI’s revelation about you, you are truly a nice and well grounded guy. I just fell in love with you more~~~

  14. i love everything about the interview. i love his swagger as well as his sincerity. but what i love the most is the last part.

    “… I’m thankful to all the staff members who made me who I am today. I don’t know how it’ll come across when I say this, but when I look at the people around me, it makes me feel like I may be able to the best in the world one day. Because the people around me are the best.”

    it’s a very good closing. it explains who he is, what he believes, and where he belongs. Someday, the boy will get what he wants.

  15. “…Do I look older? Now that baby-like image from when we first debuted is gone both for me and the other members.”

    yea.. he definitely is growing into a fine young man and is trying to leave his old image behind. it seems like he really is trying to run away from his innocent image he used to have. but hey, he is a man after all. ❤

  16. Aww he knows about his international fans ^__^

    “Definitely this year. But that doesn’t mean I’m going to date just anybody” That’s what I’m talking about, take it slow baby, take it slow ^__^.

  17. It’s definitely heartwarming to know that he has looked at the remakes and covers!!! I feel the love YB!! SOLAR is an amazing album ❤

    This is another great interview, I think this comes close to the GQ one… hehehehhehe

  18. Ahhh so much to love about this interview. If Taeyang was on a beauty pageant, he would win because his answers to these questions are honest and but smart.

    Gushed about earlier..so not gonna gush now, but I’m so happy his favorite song was “Superstar”….I hope he tries to go more into this direction because a combo of those influences resulted in something really fantastic.

    A good interview is also a result of good questions too..Thank you to whoever was the interviewer for not giving stupid questions….actually asking about his music…rather than other random stupid stuff.

  19. knowing that he recognized his international fans is enough for me…weather he goes international or not all i can do is support this one of a kind artist, who take risks in his own country even if he knew he will not be recognized as much (but YB i think Koreans now recognized you with all your accomplishments ), with the way he answers questions and his sincerity in things and the way he treats people around him is just fascinating, a humble artists indeed…

    i really admire YG for having an artist like YB…now i have so many good things to say for this guy, but it would be too long…

    HATS OFF…RESPECT…LOVE…

  20. It’s kinda painful to see that ge knows his music is not really that live in Korea, But international his being recognize and I’m glad his aware of that. WD was really the start that other people who r not in kpop like yb. They got interested on him.. There were plenty of them who only knows taeyang WD but not into kpop. Music is a universal language if it sounds good u don’t need to change it to english the quality gets affected. If yg will ever plan to debut him I would prefer Korean still with few eng phrases.. Hope some people would invest on putting yg album on selected retail store… Yg has a large international fan base because of their music…

  21. Awwww…he so sweet but I totally agree with him on wedding dress making a big impact on his popularity. It was the first video I saw of him, but when I started watching all his videos I loved him more. He is so adorable… I am so glad they did a reality show..we just get to know him better and love him even more… XOXOXOX Young Bae!!!!

  22. my fave parts of this have to be:

    It makes us think that Taeyang’s album is definitely more like a heavy-duty stone bowl, rather than like a metal pot that quickly heats up and just as quickly cools down.

    Let’s make an album that can hold its own wherever it goes, let’s prove that there’s someone who can make good music in Korea even if Korea itself doesn’t recognize us, is what we thought while we worked.

  23. “That was my ultimate goal while working with Teddy on this album. Let’s make an album that can hold its own wherever it goes, let’s prove that there’s someone who can make good music in Korea even if Korea itself doesn’t recognize us, is what we thought while we worked.”

    He knew! Man… i thought he had no idea at all about WD being so popular overseas. Why didn’t he release an english version then? he must have felt happy though. ^^ YB is looking at a bigger picture.. he’s smart. continue on YB.

  24. love it….and specially said “But if I had to describe my ideal type, you know how if you have a kind nature it shows on your face. I like women who look kind.”it really shows that he said that sincerely….YB does look even more manly cause all the baby-looks on him and the other BB have change to a more mature man…i totally agree…if it wasnt for ‘wedding drees’ í need a girl’ woulnt be such top hit now…but i’m glad that he takes others advice and totally succed…OMO..i think ‘m about to cry cause…not long from now i’ll go further my study at college so i wont be much active to read news about YB often like i do now…i’ll surely going to miss this side…cause i love it soo much….

  25. this boy just knows how to answer the questions VERY WELL 🙂

    really love the answer “That was my ultimate goal while working with Teddy on this album. Let’s make an album that can hold its own wherever it goes, let’s prove that there’s someone who can make good music in Korea even if Korea itself doesn’t recognize us, is what we thought while we worked.”
    such a bold statement!
    glad that they asked it.

    thanks for the article and the translation.
    this website has become my everyday-must-take-nutrient :))

Leave a Reply

