[Interview] Taeyang, “After the ‘elbowing incident,’ I decided to respect Seungri”②


 

After the ‘video incident,’ decided to treat Seungri as an adult

Although Taeyang is in the middle of his solo activities, there can’t not also be talk about Big Bang. All the members had taken part in solo activities, but their colors are all different. “The reason we do music is because it makes us happy and we like it. When we put out solo albums we match it to our individual styles, and when we put out an album as Big Bang we do music that we can do together. We don’t fight when we talk about music.”

Recently, a video of Big Bang member G-Dragon elbowing youngest Seungri went viral and became quite a scandal. 

“After watching the video, I thought it could be interpreted badly. We weren’t being smart. We should be doing that out in public.. We should have behaved more professionally. We’re all really close, and I think our acting naturally around each other was misunderstood. I realized that a lot of people are watching us. Also I decided to respect Seungri from now on. I realized that I have to treat Seungri like an adult (laughs).” 

Taeyang born in ‘88, lost in music from the 70s to 90s 

Taeyang had been diligently exercising even before his debut. He had been sporting his trademark mohawk for quite awhile. 

“Before our debut there was time to exercise worked into our schedules, but now if I don’t exercise I feel like I’m losing out so it’s too late not to work out. As for my hairstyle, I don’t change it. I have to grow it out but I can’t wait that long. And I don’t really feel the need to change it.” 

These days Taeyang is listening to 90s singers 015B, Pinocchio, and others. He likes the lyrics, the melody, and the emotions. Taeyang says that he can’t really listen to the latest pop music. As is fitting of a member of Big Bang, living in the year 2010 and at the forefront of the music industry, his musical tastes are profound. 

“My conviction is that even if I don’t make first place right away, I want to let people hear music that they can enjoy for a long time. I can’t really find much importance in music charts. Getting first place because of popularity, I think if I focus too much on that I’ll lose the meaning behind doing music.” 

Taeyang is now going full-speed into promoting his official album. 

“After my solo album activities, there are plans to hold a solo concert. Now that my album is out I want to diligently work and deliver my music on stage. I brought out this album with lots of joy so I would love for the people who listen to be happy too. As Big Bang, I want to put on a lot more performances with even better music.” 

Original HERE
Translations by Seungie

45 thoughts on “[Interview] Taeyang, “After the ‘elbowing incident,’ I decided to respect Seungri”②”

  1. “My conviction is that even if I don’t make first place right away, I want to let people hear music that they can enjoy for a long time. I can’t really find much importance in music charts. Getting first place because of popularity, I think if I focus too much on that I’ll lose the meaning behind doing music.”

    Awww, this right here!!!!
    Even though you’re not high on korean charts, you’re high on the (international) charts b/c we love your music

    As for your hair.. i love your mohawk and i’m glad you don’t change it b/c that’s not the reason we love and support you

  2. “My conviction is that even if I don’t make first place right away, I want to let people hear music that they can enjoy for a long time. I can’t really find much importance in music charts. Getting first place because of popularity, I think if I focus too much on that I’ll lose the meaning behind doing music.”

    I’ve got a feeling he read our comments yesterday.
    Kekekekeke see he doesn’t care about rankings!! don’t know why i did.

    1. true rankings don’t matter…and maybe sales don’t either.
      But when YG’s hyung, who handles the company money, shows him how much his album sales are raking in DOLLARS, EURO, YEN he’ll be @_@.

      He’s happy already, eveything’s just a bonus for the hard work.

      1. yes YG is already happy he made like $750,000 from Solar deluxe version so i think his happy that Taeyang album is selling well in Korea and now his not only earning Won now is dollars,euro, and yen YG will not be disappointed.

        1. see, as far as i heard “it’s harder to be a trainee in YG than it is to be a performer” but he treats his trainees well, giving them allowances and space to grow as a person.

          YB deserves all he gets.

          YG deserves the recognition for being an awesome PAPA. Flaky at times, but still awesome.

  3. Solo concert in US pleaseeeee!!!! ~^^~
    and yes, chart doesn’t mean anything, I’m glad he is not affected by all the previous neg. news.

  4. “My conviction is that even if I don’t make first place right away, I want to let people hear music that they can enjoy for a long time.” Boy, you dont how many people (me!) still listen to ur HOT album like it was out yesterday.

  5. I think he pretty much answered all those questions some fans have been making ever since Solar came out.

    And this is funny, but like Taeyang, I too find myself at a loss for what to listen to and have been, in fact, putting on repeat stuff from the 90’s, so I am actually very grateful that he chose to release an album with modern songs that ‘do’ suit my taste.

    Nice to know too that he is satisfied with what he has put out.
    If he were promoting something he didn’t like, I doubt he would be able to shine or feel love and passion for what he does.

  6. I love this interview…
    Explains the 90s feeling when you listen to the album.
    Explains (or more like reaffirming) his stand in music..
    Explains Big Bang’s feelings when making music together and as soloists..

    much respect to Taeyang, and also to Big Bang. never been a big fan of BB, but i can really see that they are probably the most true-artist out there amongst the idol groups. 5 of them, so different, but able to work it – either as soloist or as a group.

    keep making music Taeyang!! ❤

  7. Please don’t change your hair! haha it reminds me of the sun rays…so it should be a part of you it completes the look, boy! haha!

    It’s awesome how this type of person, especially in the kpop industry is like this. He doesn’t care about topping charts (even though he should) all he cares about is his music and making his kind of music that everyone can enjoy through many ages. I think he picked the best time of r&b/hip hop to be influenced by…80’s and 90’s were the best of the best..it’s never ever old to hear the tunes of back then.

    btw…Taeyang YOU HAVE to notice the amount of attention you’re getting internationally…atleast come to North America and promote yourself.

  8. If GD is Tae’s “brother from different parents,” then Seungri’s is the rest of Big Bang’s neighbor from a faraway province.

  9. ❤ Yep Seungri deserves to be treated like an adult now. ❤ They just can't play rough like that with him anymore!! Taeyang is so honest about everything<3 You don't need awards to be proud of your music/album!!

  10. “Getting first place because of popularity, I think if I focus too much on that I’ll lose the meaning behind doing music.” 

    This right here is one of the most important characteristics of Taeyang. He doesn’t do things because they are popular, but rather focuses on things that have a deeper, more personal meaning to him. Just like his fans, Taeyang is happiest when putting out genuinely good, meaningful music rather than the types of songs that go to the top of the charts because they’re catchy. Although as proven by yesterday’s MCD, that does nothing to stop him from winning! His music will continue to last lifetimes because it’s the type to stay with you in the long-run as opposed to being the “song of the moment.”. I mean how many of us still listen to HOT like it was just released? I’m pretty sure all of us do. Like the sun, Taeyang will continue shining with us forever!!!

  11. aaaawww…taeyang is such a man…so deep yet so sweet…kkk…i’m proud of you…and i’m glad that he enjoys music from the past, coz they are truly classic…like i can’t sing a full song these days without reading the lyrics…but lotsa songs in the ’90s, i know them by heart…lol…and someday, people who appreciate your talent, will still listen to all your songs because you’ve put so much heart into what you do…=)

  12. Hahaha listening to oldies? Those were the good days indeed less auto-tune and the beats didn’t seem to be overly produced seemed to flow better and had a more natural sound and feel. How bout a repackaged album with unreleased tracks and more soul derived? HAha too much too much but that would be awesome.

  13. I love what he said about making music that can last for a long time. Just like his idol MJ, I’m sure that he’ll leave quite a mark in the industry for staying true to what music should be. 🙂 This is the main reason why I truly love YB as an artist.

  14. its not like YB didnt respect VI….its just that they already got used on playing with the maknae^^ and other people tend to look the elbowing issue on the wrong side of view….they were just playing and its normal^^ cause they are like brothers already^^…dont worry YB…you didnt even did anything wrong^^ and treating VI like an adult is a best way cause he is 20 already^^ ❤

  15. “My conviction is that even if I don’t make first place right away, I want to let people hear music that they can enjoy for a long time. I can’t really find much importance in music charts. Getting first place because of popularity, I think if I focus too much on that I’ll lose the meaning behind doing music.”

    ^ that’s exactly why we love you Bae,don’t ever change,continue being the awesome person/artist that you are and the even better artist that we know you will be in the future 🙂

  16. this is why i love youngbae-san! he is so sincere and so sweet and honest. awwww kawaii!!!

    i know that youngbae-san’s music will be enjoyed by fans for years and years to come. that for sure is something he will not have to worry about.

  17. “My conviction is that even if I don’t make first place right away, I want to let people hear music that they can enjoy for a long time. I can’t really find much importance in music charts. Getting first place because of popularity, I think if I focus too much on that I’ll lose the meaning behind doing music.”

    That’s why he’s my role-model. He is just who he is and he wants to make people happy when they listen to his music. I believe that all his fans like him because of his personality and his music, stay true to yourself.

  18. “Also I decided to respect Seungri from now on. I realized that I have to treat Seungri like an adult.”

    so it takes a elbow to the chest for members to finally start respecting him? that’s complete bs

    1. I think he just meant that he learned from that incident that the Big Bang members should be more conscious of how they interact in public. They’re really close to one another and they probably tease/pick on Seungri a lot since he’s the youngest. It’s all in good faith. They don’t NOT respect each other. Only, when they do that in public people might misinterpret their actions like what happened with the elbow incident.

    2. i don’t think he and all the other members think that way…

      they tease and embarrass Seungri a lot coz he’s the youngest.. but it’s not that they don’t respect Maknae…

      he realize that they’re so close with each other that they tend to forget they could be misinterpreted…

  19. with the songs in his album and probably, the dance steps… his solo concert SURE will be for 18 and up only… hahaha!!! know what i mean???

    1. I don’t think he can even do what he did last time and have an under 18 concert. 18+ only. He’s only for the grown and sexy anyway.

  20. All I wanna say is, YB keep doing what you’re doing, staying true and consistant. <3. AND much respect to BIG BANG for being the true artists they all are, it's why I love BB.

Leave a Reply

